Previous report . Next report

Agenda for the Annual General Meeting at the Rio Cafe, Ripley 14th November 1976.

  1. To read the notice convening the meeting.
  2. To elect a Chairman for the meeting.
  3. To read and confirm the Minutes of the 1975 AGM.
  4. To receive and adopt the Annual Report.
  5. To receive and adopt the Annual Accounts.
  6. To elect the Officers and Committee for 1976/7:-
    1. President.
    2. Vice-President.
    3. Hon. Secretary.
    4. Hon. Treasurer.
    5. Hon. Runs Secretary.
    6. Hon. Consulting Solicitor.
    7. Hon. Auditor.
    8. Decide number of and elect Committee.
  7. To elect a Map Librarian.
  8. Benstead Cup events.
  9. CTC Centenary 1978
  10. To discuss any other competent business.


Ladies and Gentlemen, we have again taken advantage of a superb summer for our rides, tours, Youth Hostel weekends and Benstead Cup events.  Attendance figures for nearly all activities are up and include some DA records.  Last years figures in brackets.
Average Attendance - Sundays 29 (25).  Thursday Evenings 12 (10).  A total of 157 (137) riders have ridden with the DA during the year.

Youth Hostel Weekends - the General Section have been to the Isle of Wight, Charlbury, Mid and West Wales, Cranbourne, Exmoor and Burley.  A combined General and Wayfarers ride to Truleigh Hill YH had a record 30 riders.  The Wayfarers have also been to Goudhurst and the Thursday Nighters have twice been to Maiden Bradley.

The Benstead Cup Competition - a total of 118 (115) entries in the 7 (6) events.
50 mile Standard Ride - entries up to 24 (18), 20 riders qualified for certificates.
Speedjudging (Evening event) - 16 (16) entries, winners - K Bolingbroke and G Coole.
Roughstuff (Evening event) - entries 9 (14), winner - Ian Essex.
100 mile Standard Ride - entries 12, 10 of whom qualify for certificates.
Tourists Trial - a disappointing entry of 8 (11) for this interesting and demanding all day event, winner - R Mantle, 2nd H Coleman, 3rd H Smith.
Hillclimb - entry 23 (20), won again by Russ Mantle.
Freewheeling - the usual good entry - 27 (25), winner Graham Richardson.
Attendance Competition - The winner of the Edwards Attendance Cup is Bill Inder with 206 points, 2nd R Mantle 161 points, 3rd I Essex 140 points.
The winner of the Benstead Cup is Russ Mantle with 612 points, 2nd Harold Coleman 507 points, 3rd Ian Essex 434 points.
The Bernard Howell Memorial Cup - awarded this year to the best placed rider under 18 years at the date of the last competition, is Ian Essex with 434 points, 2nd Alastair Peebles 258 points, 3rd Mark McLaughlin 239 points.

The Photographic Competition in November was again keenly contested, winners were Landscape & Seascape - S Jackson, Club Life - R Mantle, Record & General - C Jeggo.
The Slide Show in March featured Chris Davis's "Paris-Brest-Paris".

The DA assisted in the "Action for the Crippled Child" Sponsored Ride in May.

The DA had stands at both the RAE Farnborough Fete and the Guildford Show, thanks to the efforts of Bob Patmore and Keith Parfitt.

DA members supported this years York Rally.

Thanks are due to all those members who assisted the DA Officers and Committee during the year and in particular to Dennis Gray, Wilf Warren, Owen Brown and the Ladies who have yet again provided refreshments at our functions.

Bill Inder has organised 14 Saturday Afternoon Rides, for new riders, during the Summer - average attendance - 10.

A Centenary Sub-Committee has been formed and presented its initial proposals for 1978.

Committee Meetings - 8 meetings have been held at members' homes, attendances have been:-  Inder, Field, Alesbury, Mantle & Smith - 8;  Coleman & Parfitt - 7;  Craig & Jeggo - 6.

In conclusion I would say a successful year with only the lack of support for some Benstead Cup events and ensuring that we cope with the increased number of riders, to give concern.

By order of the DA Committee 15th October 1976
..... H S Coleman ..... Signed  H S Coleman
Hon. Secretary West Surrey District Association

. Previous report . Next report . Reports index . Archives . W. Surrey DA History & Archives home page .

Web page by Chris Jeggo.  Last revised:  19 August 2009.       Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional